SHOForum  


Go Back   SHOForum > Performance Upgrades - Gen 1 (89-91) & Gen 2 (92-95) > Gen 1 & 2 - Electronics & Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-11-2012, 12:28 PM
BigCaney's Avatar
BigCaney BigCaney is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: N.E. Ky
Posts: 128
BigCaney is on the right road
Default Overload Protection For Trunk Mounted Battery

With the installation of my PowerDyne unit, I have relocated the battery to the trunk.

My question is, I would like to install some overload protection for the battery.

I don't want to something to go wrong or the battery to short out and burn my car down. Can I install a breaker or fuse that will handle the load and protect my car? I know a disconnect switch can be installed, but "instant" protection may make the difference in a emergency.

- Mike
__________________
SHO Owner and Fan since Jan '91

>'91 SHO Plus (lots of mods)
>'93 Bondurant Sable SHO #13
>'94 SHO ATX
>And 5 others that have moved on
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2012, 09:39 PM
SHOmethewayhome's Avatar
SHOmethewayhome SHOmethewayhome is offline
BAD ROLE MODEL
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 1,560
SHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud ofSHOmethewayhome has much to be proud of
Default

http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/mo...tion-fuse.html

this thread covers your question.

I'd double check the fuse size you would need.

hope this helps.
__________________
Donovan, you better go on a diet
-OffroadSHO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:03 PM
d2freak82 d2freak82 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 214
d2freak82 is unknown at this point
Default

They make both breakers, and ANL fuse holders that will definitely work. I have my battery in the trunk, with a fuse in the trunk and a breaker up front.

Only issue with the breaker under the hood seems to be heat, sometimes when it heats up too hot it will trip and not reset til it's cool again.

You can get both reasonably cheap... For under 50$ you could probably have 2 of each, or mix match whatever so you could have 1 in both places too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:42 PM
19sho90 19sho90 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 253
19sho90 is on the right road
Default

Why would putting the battery in the Trunk increase your odd's of burning your car down?
__________________
1990 Sho: BBB's Ported Intake, High-flow catless Y-pipe, K&N, Gauge pod, Carbon Gauge cluster
16.667 @84 (Before mods)
186Hp
182Tq
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2012, 12:16 AM
yamahaSHO yamahaSHO is offline
E85 whore
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 10,320
yamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond reputeyamahaSHO has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19sho90 View Post
Why would putting the battery in the Trunk increase your odd's of burning your car down?
There's a lot more cable running the length of the car that can rub through and short out.
__________________
-Jason
2004 S2000 -224 whp E85
2005 STi - 220 bhp/liter E85

Previous SHO's:
1992 White - 185 whp
1995 Red - 500+ whp E85

Want to run on E85?
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to yamahaSHO for this post:
19sho90 (03-12-2012)
  #6  
Old 03-12-2012, 12:43 AM
19sho90 19sho90 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 253
19sho90 is on the right road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahaSHO View Post
There's a lot more cable running the length of the car that can rub through and short out.
That's what i was thinking I just wasn't sure. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2012, 04:02 PM
SHOZ123's Avatar
SHOZ123 SHOZ123 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: 40:52:43.6 N 87:50:47.447
Posts: 12,045
SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!
Default

I use fuses, don't trust CBs. On my G3 I uses a 150A fuse. Whatever the starter draws under constant cranking.
__________________
Paul Nimz

2010 Genesis Coupe 2.0L track

Quote:
We have an Insolvent nation
We have Insolvent banks
And then we have the Insolvent nation bailing out the Insolvent banks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2012, 08:30 PM
kevinspann's Avatar
kevinspann kevinspann is offline
87 Octane
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 2,891
kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!kevinspann is brilliant!
Default

The fusebox has a 175A mega fuse on it for this, right? Couldn't this be used on a battery relocation?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:29 PM
SHOZ123's Avatar
SHOZ123 SHOZ123 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: 40:52:43.6 N 87:50:47.447
Posts: 12,045
SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!
Default

What you want is protection from he battery to the starter. Using the MEGA fuse would leave all the wiring from the battery to the front unprotected.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2012, 08:36 AM
Eric VerValin's Avatar
Eric VerValin Eric VerValin is offline
PiMPSKiLLET
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 3,176
Eric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud ofEric VerValin has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2freak82 View Post
Only issue with the breaker under the hood seems to be heat, sometimes when it heats up too hot it will trip and not reset til it's cool again.
.
What size wire are you using? Sounds like it could be a loose connection, or a loose ground on that breaker. When electrical "things" get warm, resistance goes up, so the same voltage would draw more if it was warm. On big electrical systems, its easiest to find loose lugs with IR cameras.

It sounds like the heat from the engine is soaking into the breaker there maybe.

Either way I'm subscribed... I have the wire, need to get a battery box yet, but I'm planning on doing this too here at some point. Then its on to put the oil filters where that battery was.
__________________

Car Domain My work
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-19-2012, 11:17 AM
vortex2450's Avatar
vortex2450 vortex2450 is offline
Buying Parts...
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 679
vortex2450 will become famous soon enoughvortex2450 will become famous soon enough
Default

I just relocated my battery a couple weeks ago, the bigget priority would be avoiding running the cable in areas where it could rub through. For me I ra nthe cbale through the interior of the car under the door trim peicesand used a hole near the right rear subframe bushing to get into the engine bay and then split-loomed the cable.

For a fuse I just installed a 175A ANl fuse in a waterproof (read: dirt/grease/oil proof) case I felt was good quality in the engine bay.

I might also install a CB in the trunk for added protection.

Here's what I used:
Fuse Holder

175A Fuse

I couldn't tell you were to start for a CB but I' sure if you psend anything over $15 on a CB it should be quality.

-Josh
__________________
92' Blue/Gray MTX - 3.Slow
92' Silver/Gray MTX - Shiny Turd.
93' Green/Mocha ATX - Crushed.

Last edited by vortex2450; 03-19-2012 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-03-2012, 05:26 PM
TwistedD85's Avatar
TwistedD85 TwistedD85 is offline
?
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,107
TwistedD85 is a name known to allTwistedD85 is a name known to allTwistedD85 is a name known to allTwistedD85 is a name known to allTwistedD85 is a name known to allTwistedD85 is a name known to all
Default

I was thinking about relocating the battery, but all of this has me having second thoughts, I didn't think it'd be this complicated or potentially dangerous.
__________________
1994 Deep Jewel Green ATX TOTALED
1993 Deep Jewel Green ATX
GT5 Snapshots
PSN ID: TwistedD85
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-03-2012, 05:28 PM
SHOZ123's Avatar
SHOZ123 SHOZ123 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: 40:52:43.6 N 87:50:47.447
Posts: 12,045
SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!SHOZ123 is brilliant!
Default

A fuse is too much trouble? If you just want to loose weight then get a Lithium battery.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


If you wish to help keep SHOforum running please click the donation button below


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Provided By: Wrestling Clique - Wrestling Forums

All content Copyright 2000 - 2014, SHOForum.com
This forum is not affiliated with Ford Motor Company